The society maintains and preserves historical items, photos and documentation from Remsen and the surrounding area. The society is housed in the historic Stone Church or Capel Cerrig on Prospect Street, which is listed on the New York State and National Registers of Historic Places and includes one of the largest Welsh libraries in America. Stone Church is one of four Welsh chapels remaining in the Remsen-Steuben area, which at one time held scores of Welsh churches of various denominations.
Welsh immigration to the Remsen/Steuben area began over two hundred years ago in 1795 with fifteen families and continued well into the twentieth century. During that time, Remsen held a pre-eminent role in Welsh immigration to the United States. Remsen continues to embrace and celebrate its Welsh heritage and is part of a unique project which is being carried out by the Remsen Development Corporation. ‘Ty Gwaith Crefft' will celebrate, interpret, and promote Remsen's proud and self-sufficient Welsh heritage and cultural origins.
Dr. Daniel Roberts was an immigrant from Wales. He lived in the Remsen-Steuben area from 1812 to his untimely death in 1820. He is often referred to as "the witch doctor of Starr Hill." The title might have been earned from the doctor's studies under Messemer. Several years ago, the Remsen-Steuben Historical Society presented a dinner theater based on the doctor's life. An out-of-print book by Daniel's descendant, Edna Roberts Robb details his life in "Honey Out of the Rock."
This collection includes correspondence, property and financial documents, as well as a geneological chart relating to Dr. Daniel Roberts and his decendents. The documents date from the early nineteenth century through 1930, with the bulk dating from the mid-nineteeth century.
Descendants of Dr Daniel Roberts (1775-1820)